News from the Richard C. Adkerson School of Accountancy

Investing in Students

The ASAC graduate assistants for 2021-2011 are (first row, from left) Miriam Patrick, Seth Germ, Morgan Hodges, (second row, from left) Wei Chen, Anna Hall, Maura Chiles, (third row, from left) Khylar Cain and Karis Cox.

Scholarships take many forms and come from a variety of sources. But for students in the Adkerson School of Accountancy, they share a common purpose: to make possible an outstanding accounting education for a deserving student, smoothing the way to a promising career.

For our upper-level students, graduate assistantships are not only financially helpful but also build experience and distinguish resumes. Selected as ASAC graduate assistants for the 2021-2022 academic year are Khylar Cain, Wei Chen, Maura Chiles, Karis Cox, Seth Germ, Anna Hall, Morgan Hodges and Miriam Patrick.

The first recipients of Adkerson Graduate Fellowships, which are awarded to African American graduate students at MSU, are (from left) Miriam Patrick, Kyanna Hollin, Khylar Cain and (not pictured) Zykeyah Horn.

Among the newest scholarships established at ASAC are Adkerson Graduate Fellowships for full-time African American graduate students at Mississippi State. Endowed by the Richard C. Adkerson Family Foundation, the first of these fellowships have been awarded for the coming year to Khylar Cain, Zykeyah Horn, Kyanna Hollin and Miriam Patrick.

A notable award from outside the university went to Jennifer Johnson, named a PCAOB Scholar and recipient of a $10,000 scholarship for the year ahead. For this national recognition, the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board – PCAOB – selects among outstanding students who have been recommended by their universities.

Many companies, individuals and foundations have deemed MSU accounting students a worthy investment for the future of the profession. Following is a list of the Adkerson School of Accountancy’s 2021-2022 scholarships and recipients. To all who have provided for our students in this way, we extend a sincere and substantial “thank you.” To the worthy recipients, congratulations and well done!

2021-2022 Adkerson School of Accountancy Scholarships

Adkerson School of Accountancy Freshman Scholarship

Allie Bell
Matthew Hearn
Allison Mayo
Caleb Randall
Christopher Russell
Payne Sleeper
Blake Tucker

Adkerson Graduate Fellowship

Khylar Cain
Kyanna Hollin
Zykeyah Horn
Miriam Patrick

Benjamin Head Memorial Scholarship

Logan Johnson

Bill & Susan Baker Endowed Scholarship

Emily Argroves
Haley Hughes
Thomas McBride
Rachael Nolan
Jamison Rice

BKD Accounting Annual Excellence Scholarship

Blake Brecklein
Megan Holloway
Lane Hutcheson
Austin Jackson
Christina Major
Sebastian Perez

CBIZ Accounting Excellence Scholarship

Joseph Hardy

CSPIRE Accounting Excellence Scholarship

Mallory Amos
Emma Gonzales
Alynda Goul
Travis Grantham
Samuel Williams

Cummins Family Endowed Scholarship

Alexis Fleming
Margaret Williams

Daniel & Leigh Thomas Annual Scholarship

Joseph Hardy

Deloitte Accounting Excellence SCHOLARSHIP

Murphy Foust
Christopher Russell

Dixon Hughes Goodman Freshman Accounting Scholarship

James Butler

Don and Peggy Whitmire Scholarship

Molly Flathman
Rachel Moore
Madalyn Riehm

Donald Garrett Scholarship

Michelle Acevedo
Emily Pettit

Emry and Phil Duckworth Scholarship

Seth Sloan
Lief Thorsen

Ernst & Young Annual Excellence Scholarship

Sarah Anderson

Frank Jackson Endowed Scholarship

Morgan Bevon
Anna Bumgarner
Kelsei Harris
Katie Hays
Raely Langson
Morgan Mounce
Nicholos Sanders
Sommer Schmulsky
Kelly Tran

Frank Jackson Graduate GAP Scholarship

Khylar Cain
Wei Chen
Anna Hall
Morgan Hodges
Miriam Patrick

Geoffrey Taylor Scholarship

Emily Baker

Haddox, Reid, Eubank, Betts Annual Scholarship

Courtney Reid

Horne Accounting Excellence Scholarship

Aaron Francis
Gracie Fuller
Julie King
Madison McCaleb
Mary Young

Horne Annual Graduate GAP Scholarship

Karis Cox

Jobie T. Melton Accounting Memorial Scholarship

Allyson Barefield
Ryan Bergman
John Fox
Mason Givens
Jacob Schulz

John Ferguson Annual Scholarship

Anna Eoff
Haley Graham
Lindsey Watts

Joseph McIlwain Annual Scholarship

Adalyn Aldridge
Hannah Guest
Jennifer Johnson
Madison Keller
Ashley Perez

KPMG Accounting Excellence Scholarship

Taylor Blaker
Hannah Fisher
Tristan Jaudon
Brieshon Quarles
Molly Smith
Tanner Thurman

May & Company Endowed Scholarship

Anna Lamanilao

Patrick Davis Memorial Scholarship

McKenna Graham

Philip & Sandra Smith Freshman Endowed Scholarship

Ryan Bergman
Oakley Camille
Wilson Mink
Margaret Williams

Robert Livingston Endowed Scholarship

Samantha Hagan
Sara Hesse

Roger Boatner Endowed Scholarship

Arlandria Fleming

Roger Boatner Graduate GAP Scholarship

Maura Chiles
Seth Germ

Roger N. Hill Memorial SCHOLARSHIP

Mallory Amos
Devon Matheny

Stephen Burwell Endowed Scholarship

William Baumhauer
Eric Brooks
Catherine Copell
Kara Cossar
Kelly Kuenzinger
Anna Lang
Tate Parnin
Sarah Turner

Suzanne Haggard Endowed Scholarship

Garima Kharbanda
Kortney Parker

T. E. Lott & Company Accounting Excellence Scholarship

Amiyah Brown

Troy Baldwin Memorial Accounting Scholarship

Margaret Brumfield

Warren Averett Annual Scholarship

Richard Smith

Warren Averett Scholarship

McKenzie Chambley

Wayne Coleman Endowed Scholarship

Queen Buchanan

William M. Gulledge, Sr. Memorial Scholarship

Kylee Eubank
Payne Sleeper
Caroline Virden