News from the Richard C. Adkerson School of Accountancy

ASAC Achievements

Bill Backstrom, a 1976 alumnus, received the 2023 Council on State Taxation’s (COST) Paul Frankel Excellence in State Taxation Award. The award is presented at each COST Annual Meeting to an individual who has made significant contributions to the state and local tax profession. Backstrom is a partner at Jones Walker LLP in New Orleans, LA, and leader of the firm’s Tax Practice Group.

Alumna Jan Lewis, a Tax Partner for BMSS Advisors & CPAs, was recently named by Forbes to its inaugural list of America’s Top 200 CPAs. Forbes calls the list “a compilation of the finest CPAs active in public practice, culled from a collection of candidates sourced through independent nominations and accolades from every society and association of CPAs.”

Congratulations to Dr. Mike Truelson, recipient of the 2023-24 Adkerson School of Accountancy (ASAC) Faculty Research Award. The award is based on a faculty member’s publication record over the previous two years. Applications are reviewed by the Director of the School of Accountancy and the Dean of the College of Business. Truelson is a worthy recipient, having published in several high-ranking accounting journals.

Thanks and best wishes to our great crew of 2023-24 graduate assistants as they begin what we know will be productive and beneficial professional careers. Indeed, we are proud of all our ASAC spring graduates – congratulations!

Congratulations to 2024 student honorees Ryan Holmes, the Mississippi Society of CPAs’ MSU Outstanding Accounting Major, and Reagan Johnson, MSU Adkerson School of Accountancy Outstanding Accounting Graduate Student.

We have a smart and hardworking new team of graduate assistants for 2024-25! They are (front, from left) Ryan Holmes, Allie Bell, Naomi Gardner, (middle, from left) Ellie Condrey, Sara Evelyn Hesse, Emma Gonzales, (back, from left) Wyatt Reid and Peyton Hilliard.