News from the Richard C. Adkerson School of Accountancy

ASAC Achievements

Adkerson Inducted into Hall of Fame

Alumnus Richard C. Adkerson, Jr., for whom our School is named, was recently inducted into the National Mining Hall of Fame in recognition of his contributions to the industry. Adkerson is Chairman and CEO of Freeport-McMoRan Inc., one of the world’s largest publicly traded copper producers. The only person to have served two full terms as Chairman of the International Council on Mining and Metals, he has championed initiatives to strengthen environmental and social performance in the mining industry.

Goolsby Named MSCPA Chair

Alumnus Jerry Goolsby was elected Chairman of the Mississippi Society of CPAs. A retired Partner of FORVIS, he also serves on the ASAC Advisory Council.

Lewis Elected to AICPA Board

Last spring, alumna Jan Lewis was elected to the American Institute of CPAs’ Board of Directors. A Tax Member at Haddox Reid Eubank Betts, PLLC, in Ridgeland, MS, Lewis also chairs ASAC’s Advisory Council.

Walker Appointed to State Board

1971 alumnus Gary Walker was appointed to the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy by Governor Tate Reeves. He is a Partner at Lyle, Walker & Co., P.A. in Ridgeland, MS.

Freshman Scholars

Seven students were awarded Adkerson School of Accountancy Freshman Scholarships for the current academic year. Pictured at an event earlier this year are (first row, from left) Hannah Pearce, Frances Richards, Caroline Thompson, Madilyn Rushing, ASAC Academic Coordinator Trina Pollan, (second row, from left) Lucas Price – an upperclassman who spoke with the freshmen – Summer Ley, Alex Johnston, Samuel Spitzer and ASAC Director Shawn Mauldin.

MSCPA Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to our three students who were honored with Mississippi Society of CPAs Scholarships, (from left) Allie Bell, Alisha Worthy and (not pictured) Wayne Herring.

Graduate Assistants

The Adkerson School of Accountancy is proud of its hard-working 2023-2024 graduate assistants: (first row, from left) Reagan Johnson, Alisha Worthy, Monet Leckert, (second row, from left) Abby Long, Lindsey Horn, Rachel Moore, (third row, from left) Logan Johnson, Aly Goul and Thomas Iupe.

PCAOB Scholar

Kelsei Harris was named a 2023-2024 PCAOB Scholar by the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board. The program’s $10,000 merit scholarships are awarded to accounting students who are nominated by their schools and are likely to become auditors.

Student Advisory Board

Students selected to serve on this year’s Adkerson School of Accountancy Student Advisory Council are (first row, from left) Kelsei Harris, Alisha Worthy, Maddie Howell, Morgan Mounce, (second row, from left) Logan Johnson, John Patrick Warren, Lucas Price and Wyatt Reid.