News from the Richard C. Adkerson School of Accountancy

An Update from the ASAC Advisory Council

By Jerry Goolsby, President

Jerry Goolsby, ASAC Advisory Council President

2019 was another great year for the Adkerson School of Accountancy. The School continues to be highly ranked among its peers by national publications, and in June, the Mississippi Society of CPAs awarded MSU graduate Jason Morgan of Canton the Fred T. Neely Gold Medal for the highest score on the CPA Exam during the prior year. Under Dr. Shawn Mauldin’s leadership, we continue to build a strong faculty and recruit the best and brightest students to MSU.

Another highlight of this past year was the opening of the newly renovated accounting suite named in memory of long-time faculty member and leader Dora Herring. Dr. Herring was a great encourager and example to me and so many others. The renovated suite is impressive. I urge you to take a tour the next time you are on campus.

The Advisory Council hosted successful alumni events in Memphis and Jackson this past summer, with former MSU women’s basketball player and current assistant coach Blair Schaefer, Coordinator of Player Development, addressing both groups.

As we look forward into 2020, the Council welcomes the following new members:

  • Paul Berryhill, Reynolds, Bone & Griesbeck – Memphis
  • Steven Cooksey, Great Southern Bank – Meridian
  • Sloan Hankins, Baker Donelson – Memphis
  • Chris Roetker, Mid-America Apartments – Memphis

I would like to thank Larry Wilson of T.E. Lott, who rotated off of the Council in 2019 after many years of faithful service.

One of our goals for the coming year is to help update the School’s strategic plan. The Council, along with faculty and other stakeholders, will meet this fall to begin the process of evaluating and planning to provide a path for the School to reach its long-term goals.

Thanks to the leadership of Dr. Mauldin and the support and commitment of alumni and friends, the Adkerson School of Accountancy has never been better positioned to serve our students and University.